The Pay Per Call Business Model – Finding Offline Clients
To go back to part 6: Local SEO – click here.
At last we’re getting to the final stages of building a pay per lead business. In this stage, you actually get to start making money. You’ve done niche research, keyword research, setup your domains and built out the sites.
You’ve also optimized and promoted them. Hopefully, your sites should be ranking on the first page of Google at this point for their respective keywords. If they aren’t, give them a few more days as it can take up to 10 days for the rankings to kick in.
If your sites aren’t ranking after 10 days of building links; you need to build more or you’re doing something wrong. When your sites are ranking, calls should start coming in. You can expect 5 out of 10 visitors to call the number on any given local site – just as long as it looks legitimate.
The idea is to create sites that look like real local businesses, with the themes and steps outlaid in the other posts it’s pretty simple to do. When your sites are generating phone calls on a weekly basis; it’s time to sell them to clients.
Now your clients will be ANY other local business in the niche. The vast majority of these offline businesses have budgets for marketing. Some don’t and that’s ok, as most will. Getting clients is really the easy part, it’s not a difficult sell.
Pay per call is really the future of offline Internet Marketing. Offline businesses do a lot of pay per click, and they only convert something like 4-5% of clicks into customers. With pay per call, they can convert 30-70% of calls into customers.
The only difficult part is figuring out how much your calls are worth. To begin with companies are going to try and pay you as little as possible. So before you even contact them, you need to get a good idea of how much the average client/customer is worth to them.
- Average Locksmith Gross Profit Per Customer = $50
- 10 qualified calls @ $10/call = $100
- 70% turn into paying customers
- 7 customers x $50 = $350
They’re spending $100 and making $350. If the average customer is $100 and the cost per lead is just $15 with the same conversion rate; they’re making $700 per $150 spent.
- Average Attorney Gross Revenue Per Client = $2-15K
- 10 qualified calls @ $100 = $1000
- 30% Turn into paying clients
- 3 clients x $4000 = $12,000
First, agree on a price per lead. Work out a fair price, see what other people are selling leads for in the same niche. Remember as long as you’re making an average of $15/lead – you’re good.
Second you need to physically forward the rented number to their office number. Callfire allows you to forward your rented numbers. It’s very straight forward, you’ll see how when you login to Callfire and go under manage numbers.
Make sure you specify the qualified lead time, again work that out with the client. For low-price services like plumbers, locksmiths and roofers, 2-3 minutes is the norm. Lastly you need to setup a call whisper.
This is yet again, a badass feature of Callfire and the pay per lead business model. Callfire allow you to add what they call a ‘whisper’ for each forwarded call. The whisper is a voice message the business receives before the forwarded call goes live.
A common whisper to use is: “This lead is brought to you by XYZ company”. So whenever a client gets a call from one of your websites, they’ll receive that whisper message before being connected with the lead. This tells the business owner that the lead is from you.
You can create one call whisper and use it for all numbers. That’s literally all you have to do. Pick a niche, keywords, build some sites, rank them and forward the phone numbers to clients. With the Callfire system, every phone call will be tracked and you can send the clients weekly invoices for qualified calls via paypal.
It’s a clever system and will be getting a lot more attention from the Internet Marketing crowd in the coming years.
So how do you really go about getting clients?
Client Getting Strategies
1. Call Whispering
This is one of the easiest and safest ways to secure clients for your sites. Especially if you’re new at this and are afraid of cold calling. This strategy will allow you to warm-approach offline businesses.
What you do is setup the call whisper like previously explained and find 10 different businesses in the targeted area. What you want to do is send each business at least 3 leads. Most sites won’t generate 3 calls a day, as little as that sounds.
If you’re charging $20/lead on average, you only need around 13 leads/day to make $100,000 a year. While one site might not generate 3 leads a day, if you build a network of sites within a county as described, you can bet they’ll do at least 3 leads/day between them.
With a big enough network within a county (10+ sites) you can easily generate 10+ calls per day. So you want to send a minimum of 3 leads to each of the 10 selected businesses. If you’re generating 10 calls a day, even better; just forward them all to 1 business per day.
With the call whisper setup; the business will be getting A LOT of calls and they’ll be hearing “this lead is brough to you by XYZ”. When they only generate like 5 leads/day, they’re going to be wondering who the fuc*k XYZ is sending them twice their normal lead flow in a single day.
Do this over 10 days so you’ve sent a lot of calls to 10 different local businesses. What will happen is the longer you leave it the more intrigued and curious the business owners will be. The more leads you send them and the more time you wait, the easier it’ll be to sell them your services.
Once done you can call each business up individually and introduce yourself as “X from XYZ company”. The chances are, they’re going to instantly recognize the name and they’re going to be excited.
Here are a few points to bring up in conversations…
You just have to explain that you sent them a bunch of leads and ask them if they would like more real-time customers/clients calling them. Most will say yes. Another feature of Callfire is that it allows you to send X amount of leads for free to a client.
So on the phone you can offer the business X amount of free leads first. Or otherwise just explain that you offer a ’7 day rolling unconditional guarantee’. With Callfire this is exactly what you can offer, the only option. You send them real-time customers on a daily basis, and if they like the leads they just pay the weekly bill which will be invoiced to them via paypal.
If they don’t like them, they can simply ignore the invoice. You will probably follow-up and ask them why they didn’t like the leads. So they can stop paying for the leads any time, all the risk is on you. It’s performance based marketing, clients only pay for qualified leads they are happy with.
It’s also a good idea to find out their average price of a customer. How many leads convert on the phone and the average time for a lead to convert. Knowing the rough average time allows you to set the qualified lead time. That’s everything it takes to close a client.
There are no contracts involved. Once you agree on everything with a client, you forward the number to them, setup the call whisper and that’s it. Every week you can login to Callfire, see how many qualified leads were generated for them and send them an invoice.
2. Cold Calling
The second strategy is just cold calling. Get out the phone book, business directory or use Google search to find a list of local businesses in the area you’re targeting. Call them up and pitch them your service. Cold calling is the faster way of getting clients, but it requires more skill and perseverance.
That’s it, everything you need to know to build a 6 figure offline Internet Marketing business. To return to the main page of this series, click here.